Back to all reports

Unsafe path in Kelston Fields

Reported via desktop in the Park safety issue category anonymously at 19:37, Mon 14 December 2020

Sent to Bath and North East Somerset Council less than a minute later. Council ref: 2431954.

See my report ref2426244. Your response was inadequate and irrelevant. Please deal with the current problem and improve the path for users now. I will also contact the local Councillor.

RSS feed of updates to this problem Receive email when updates are left on this problem.

Updates

  • We've looked into this report and are investigating the issue. We will update this report once we decide what action to take.

    State changed to: Investigating

    Posted by Bath and North East Somerset Council at 09:02, Tue 15 December 2020

  • Hello, Apologies for the earlier response. It appears that the Council's Highways Contractor has been using the path for vehicle access to the river which has made it more rutted and muddier than usual. The Parks Team wasn't aware of this until you alerted us. Sorry. However, I've now been assured that the path will be reinstated and ‘made good’ as soon as possible. There isn't a safety risk here and unfortunately there isn't a budget to tarmac the path at the moment, but if it's identified as a priority in the public consultation about the Riverline parks then there will be a much stronger case for funding this.

    (This is actually the first time anyone has complained about the state of the path at Kelson's Field). It may be worth noting that the Windsor Villas access road which links the park to Locksbrook Road is not owned by the Council and so we're not in a position to do anything about that area of road.

    State changed to: In progress

    Posted by Bath and North East Somerset Council at 16:46, Tue 15 December 2020

  • Thanks for your last explanation. As of today there has been no improvement to the path and there is no sign of contractors work.

    Posted anonymously at 15:30, Monday 11 January 2021

  • We’re waiting for our Highways contractor to fill in the ruts and reduce the muddiness on the path, but we don’t have a budget to do any significant re-surfacing work at the moment. We hope to have it done soon but we’re waiting on the availability of our Highways contractor and unfortunately we don’t have another staff resource to get it repaired in the meantime..

    Posted by Bath and North East Somerset Council at 16:17, Thursday 14 January 2021

  • We’re waiting for our Highways contractor to fill in the ruts and reduce the muddiness on the path, but we don’t have a budget to do any significant re-surfacing work at the moment. We hope to have it done soon but we’re waiting on the availability of our Highways contractor and unfortunately we don’t have another staff resource to get it repaired in the meantime..

    Posted by Bath and North East Somerset Council at 16:17, Thursday 14 January 2021

Provide an update

Please note that updates are not sent to the council. Your information will only be used in accordance with our privacy policy

Next: Tell us about you

or No personal details will be stored, and you will not receive updates about this report.

Your update

Tell us about you

Do you have a FixMyStreet password?